The Retrofit Chicago Energy Challenge provides awards to further recognize and celebrate building teams and individuals who are demonstrating excellence in the field of energy efficiency.


Annual award nominations are open for several weeks in mid-to-late summer, and are judged by a panel made up of City and partner representatives. The annual winners are announced at the Retrofit Chicago Awards & Celebration in the fall. For more details, please send an email to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Mayor's Leadership Circle Award: The Mayor's Leadership Circle Award is presented to facility teams that have reached or exceeded the 20% energy reduction target in the Retrofit Chicago Energy Challenge.


• 2015: 125 South Wacker Drive
• 2014: FOUR40 (440 South LaSalle Street)

Most Valuable Engineer (MVE): The MVE Award recognizes a Retrofit Chicago engineer who has gone above-and-beyond in identifying and achieving energy savings through efficient building operations at his or her facility.

• 2015: Lawrence Lang, The Railway Exchange Building
• 2014: Calvin Oaks and Ryan Egan, Chicago Sheraton Hotel & Towers
• 2014: Shawn Freeman, The Rookery Building

Most Valuable Manager (MVM): Added in 2015, this category recognizes a property manager or management team member (such as an Assistant Property Manager) who exemplifies how and why energy efficiency is critical to excellent property management.

• 2015: Myrna E. Coronado-Brookover, 77 West Wacker Drive

Most Innovative Project or Partnership: Added in 2015, this category recognizes exceptional innovation in the field of energy efficiency, and is presented to a project, partnership, or other unique effort that has made a groundbreaking, significant, and replicable contribution to building energy performance.

• 2015: Comprehensive Retrofit of Continental Plaza, won by Hispanic Housing Development Corporation; Affordable Community Energy; Tropic Construction; dbMS; and eConserve